happy hour to happily ever after

At the start of a new week it’s time to get organized, motivated and most importantly start making plans for the upcoming weekend! Heaven forbid a gal finds herself on a Friday night with nothing to do but her paint her nails and empty the DVR. Don’t get me wrong, we all need a weekend off to rest and reset, but come Friday at lunchtime my hopes for meeting my next love are about as high at the heels I’m rocking to happy hour.

 By mid-week, I without a doubt, will email a girlfriend something along the lines of “the city is ours for the taking”, “let’s make ourselves talk to at least two guys”, “I’m only buying myself two drinks, any third or fourth beverage a man to purchase for me”. But when I find myself actually out and about, my motivation dwindles like a bar post happy hour. The cause? The usual excuses I tell myself 1.) There’s no one I’m interested in and 2.) I’m more focused on catching up with friends. But in all honesty, I’m lazy and a bit scared.

 Perhaps my job the last 5 years plugging away at a computer, iMessaging, Facebooking and now blogging!! has caused irrefutable damage to my social skills? Which coincidently is the chronic eye twitch of those in their mid-to-late twenties. Again, maybe it’s the “rules” getting the best of me. While I impatiently wait for Mr. Right to spot me across the bar, smile and send over a cocktail, there could be a fun bunch of guys at the neighboring table. Or is it the doubting little voice in the back of my head? Who likes to remind me I’m over dressed for an SF bar or not as pretty as that trollop who just sauntered in. Or finally, do I feel a bit guilty asking for what I truly want – making the first move, being aggressive, taking the cake?

 Regardless of my hang ups, let’s cheers to taking control, being open to change and maybe, if we’re lucky, a new contact in our iPhone!

Leave a Reply

